Poems Of Absence


These poems were first published in Peregrine Muse under a common title ‘Five Remembrances’. 

1

I see you in the slant of light
that streams in from a distant time,
your body translucent as sea,
the river holds your face in watery hands,
your voice shivers on bare stones,
sand sings your songs, your eyes,
emptied of seasons, gaze at me,
wrapping me in a quiet embrace, 
filling themselves with my longings,
my heart, hollowed of words,
weighs heavy with the moments
I did not live with you,
I reach out for you across the mist,
you withdraw in silence.
2
Night shivers on quiet trees,
the silver disc of midnight moon,
torn by the branches of conifers,
drags its light over rustling Deodars,
drops behind houses at the valley’s edge,
the cold air bears the fragrance
of tobacco smoke and timeworn wood,
silence and regret haunt me
as I feel your absence growing
like moss on the walls of our empty home,
when shadows take shape I think it is you,
but I know you never come here now,
every night I wander among your memories,
hoping to feel your presence,
and when time rolls up the night,
like a well used prayer mat,
and puts it away for the day,
I return to my final resting place
carrying the dust of our dreams. 
2 thoughts on “Poems Of Absence

Leave a Reply

