‘Collection of Chaos’ at Cena Poetica di Samuele Editore


A few days back I had written about the Italian Connection.

A few poems from my debut poetry book ‘Collection 0f Chaos’  (published by James Goddard, Leaky Boot Press) were translated into Italian by Rachel Slade and  Alessandro Canzian   and read by Rachel at Cena Poetica di Samuel Editore in the beautiful town of Pordenone in northern Italy as part of  Samuele Editore’s poetry presentation and ‘poetry dinner’ held at ‘Al Campanile’ restaurant, a 15th century building where many talented poets including Nguyen Chi Trung presented their work.

 

 

10502246_700785683309618_5488136158779570638_n

Rachel Slade reading her Italian translations of poems from my book ‘Collection of Chaos’ during Samuele Editore’s poetry presentation and ‘poetry dinner’ on 27th June, in the beautiful northern Italian city of Pordenone.

Rachel is a young American artist and photographer whose watercolor titled ‘Sea’  is used as the cover illustration for my book. A great friend and brilliant artist, Rachel brought my poems alive in the most poetic of all languages.

Here is one of the poems she translated and read :

You stripped me of my words
unravelled them quietly
pulled a good seam I guess
Took the braid of thread
and walked away
there wasn’t a single knot
a perfect weave
of silence and words
but how would you know

 

Hai spogliato me delle mie parole

mi hai dipanata con calma
sfilacciata per bene suppongo
hai afferrato il filo principale
e l’hai tirato
non c’era un solo nodo
l’intreccio era perfetto
di silenzio e di parole
ma come facevi a saperlo?

You can listen to her in the video below.

 

 

I quickly Googled the lovely city where the event was being held while chatting with Rachel and James as she informed us of the event’s details and sent pictures of the restaurant building last Thursday. I had closed my eyes and imagined how it would feel to be among a group of  such talented poets and listen to her read the words that were so close to my heart. I cannot describe the feeling.

June 27th  brought immense happiness to me as a writer. To be featured as part of such an important event was like  a dream come true and I waited eagerly for an update from Rachel about the reading and her message, when it came,  filled me with so much joy.

She wrote :
“I have to tell you quickly about yesterday’s reading. Shortly I will send you copies of what I read, and Alessandro will be putting up the video as well… but I really wanted you to know now that people really loved your poems my dear. In fact you have made quite the impression without even being here. Your poems spoke for you and I feel, very strongly, that they spoke for each of us in such a way that as I read them aloud I could feel people responding around me, both the men and women… it was deeply moving. Of course I brought the book and people were very interested in the press (James ) as well as your blog – many people speak, or at least understand, English so they will be visiting… Many people wanted to know more about you (O mysterious one…) and hear more about India, New Delhi, your life, the lives of women there… and so many sensed immediately your strength, your presence and the force and fortitude of authentic poetry….”
Later she commented on a photograph shared on FB, “The poems of  Tikuli bestow phantasmagoric superpowers upon the reader………

 

What surprised me was the appreciation that poured in via messages and tweets. Poets connecting with me, reading my blog, sharing, reblogging my poems, writing to me, sharing their work. Nothing makes a writer happier than this bonding with fellow writers and I am grateful to each one of them for joining me in my  journey through poetry. Thank you Bea Ary and  Roberta Lepri, it is a pleasure to know you and read your work. It’s a blessing.

 

Sometimes in life good things come to us without us expecting them, this was one such occasion—and one of the happiest times of my life. Thank you James for making this happen.

 

You can View these links too

Rachel Slade’s Art 
Samuele Editore 

Leaky Boot Press

You can buy Collection of Chaos from all online book sellers including Amazon and  Book Depository who do free online shipping all over the world. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “‘Collection of Chaos’ at Cena Poetica di Samuele Editore

  1. Pingback: Monday Memories 23 – Six Years Of Blogging And A Few Other Things | Spinning a Yarn Of Life

Leave a Reply

