Another Feedback On ‘Collection Of Chaos’ And The Italian Connection


The summer is still lingering and not really giving way to the monsoon. Hot summer noons are for quick impromptu poems, home-made mango popsicle, some good music and quietly gazing at the shadow pigeons going about their business on my window curtain.

Here are few that I shared on Facebook :

This poem is split in two 

and
a shadow of you

***

making love is like water,
sometimes ice,
sometimes fog.
I like the steam rising
from salt filmed bodies

*****

We live in each other’s minds 
and often meet 
in the silences between words 
Love never dies 
it just changes form

****

And NOW The Good News –

A much awaited feedback on my book and a reading thousands of miles away in the beautiful northern Italian city of Pordenone.

 

Sometime in February I received a short personal feedback on my book ‘Collection Of Chaos‘  from award-winning poet, novelist  Tabish Khair and it made my day.

Thank you so much.

********************

Here’s what he had to say,

“I liked the collection; at your best you have a sparseness and precision that reminds me of haiku-forms, and this is rather rare in Indian English poetry, which tends to be verbose and self-indulgent! You often draw upon personal-emotional states: this would usually put me off, but in your case it works because you find a sort of objective mental/imagistic backdrop for them, and invest them with economy of expression. For instance, a short one like this is perfect in its own way, personal but not dripping with self-indulgence because your image makes it larger and more ‘objective’: 
Your words—
Hired assassins 

On the other hand, in some poems, like the one below, you get too ‘theoretical’, and I think these poems work less for me: 
incessant rain
a poetic hybridity of thoughts

I will love to read your next collection.

Tabish Khair, Author of Man of Glass and The Thing About Thugs

**************************************

 

The Italian Connection 

Yesterday Rachel Slade, whose painting graces the cover of my book, informed me that some poems from my Leaky Boot Press book, ‘Collection of Chaos’, will be read in Italian translation by her as part of a Samuele Editore poetry presentation and ‘poetry dinner’ tomorrow night, 27th June, at ‘Al Campanile’ restaurant, a 15th century building in the beautiful northern Italian city of Pordenone.

 

This is one of the finest news I have heard in long time.  Rachael is a very talented artist and it is a joy to collaborate with her.  (Rachel’s Website)

Thank you so much Rachael, Samuele and James for helping me realize my dream. Some day I would love to travel to Italy and to this gorgeous place.  We will read poems, drink wine, indulge in finest Italian cuisine and soak up the flavors of the beautiful landscape.

Stay Tuned For More Updates  🙂

 

The support from my friends, ditors, mentors, experts matters a lot to me. To know there are friends showing love to my writing, it makes me forget the everyday struggles, the frail health and the heartaches. So, for those of you who have my book and are reading it and sending me feedback every now and then, I’m indeed very thankful.

 

One thought on “Another Feedback On ‘Collection Of Chaos’ And The Italian Connection

  1. Pingback: ‘Collection of Chaos’ at Cena Poetica di Samuele Editore | Spinning a Yarn Of Life

Leave a Reply

