You And me – Three Poems Of Love Unrequited


1.

Time stands still.
I linger,
like the empty pitcher
at the mouth of the village well
waiting patiently
to be filled.

**************

2.

You did not say a word.

Nothing.

I could sense your

  stoic, composed self

from across a thousand miles

as I whimpered

about things gone wrong.

What you said or failed to say,

how I felt, what I thought,

the conclusions I drew

from the things I masticated on,

the hurt, the pain, the want,

I furiously punched  it all.

Glad that I did not have to speak.

That in our technology powered relationship

there were gadgets that could  be used as crutches.

You remained silent.

Not a word.

I punched a few more keys

wrote this and that

and a few more other things.

 I felt pulled from all sides like an elastic band

and then released.

The sting of pain shot through my head

as my fingers tapped mindlessly.

Then,

exhausted by my meltdown

and hoping for a response ,

I waited.

Still Nothing.

“Say something.” I nudged.

Still nothing.

Just a cold silence.

You had begun to bury me already.

Minutes turned to hours,

night turned to day

and slowly fell into the dark ,

a silent dark,

unreadable,

unsettling,

asphyxiating

dead silence

as wide as the distance

between us.

The clock ticked.

The cellphone breathed its last.

Silently.

The pain returned with

greater vengengence,

concentrated at the corner of the eyes,

till the eyes softened

and tears began to recede

carrying the weight of a lifetime

then everything collapsed

I guess that’s when

the sky became overcast

and it began to rain.

***********

3.

That night never left me
It seeped into the hollow of my bones.
People leave
their absence doesn’t.
It goes where the loss 
goes to hide.
Inside the bones.
In the hollow.
filling it
with an immeasurable emptiness

**********

9 thoughts on “You And me – Three Poems Of Love Unrequited

  1. Thanks Pixie. One of those days when angst needs to be poured out. Three more coming up after the two travel pieces. Then I guess I am done with it. :p

    Like

  2. People leave their absence doesn’t..the poor mobile reaching a dead end..beautifully woven and it’s such a great joy reading the poems..aesthetic beauty:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

