Getting Candid With Author Kiran Manral


0044

Spinning a Yarn of Life welcomes the gorgeous Kiran Manral. 

She isn’t tall but Kiran Manral author of Once Upon a Crush is sure a towering personality. A freelance writer, author, social activist, a twitterati and a doting mother Kiran Manral is elegant, witty, charming, easy-going and a very affectionate person. I have yet to meet her and yet I totally connect with her at many levels.

It gives me great pleasure and honor to share a candid conversation I recently had with her. We both wanted to talk about something other than writing and books so over tall chilled glasses of lemonades we began chatting  love, life and all things bright from two different cities.

Me-  Wondering how the word ‘crush‘ was used first as ‘having a crush on someone’, and why. The verb and the noun have two completely opposite meanings. What do you think?

K- Ha ha ha. I think a crush can crush you if not reciprocated….ergo, they do have some connection.

Me-  Am sure the gorgeous Kiran Manral is not “crush -proof” so tell us about your once upon a crush and the silliest things you did for him. What about guys having a crush on you .. any special recollection? 

K- Way way back in college times, I was borderline stalker with one crush. I think I scared him off. I really have no clue if anyone had a crush on me. My now spouse then boyfriend was probably too much of “Don’t mess with me,” scary for anyone to openly display a soft corner for me.

Me-  Now that we are speaking of ‘crushes’, do you like fruit crushes? Which flavor is your favorite? 

K- Mango. Strawberry. Kiwi fruit.

Me-  The interview will be incomplete without The Brat . You have a handsome Tween at home and soon you will be dealing with his crushes and heartbreaks. Are you ready for the challenge? Ever thought of writing a book about the ‘Adventures of Brat NowOfficiallyATween‘ or about the pressures facing by being mom to your son. We would love some sweet n sour moments from the life and times of brat and his mother. 

K- Oh yes, it has already started. Sigh. I’m now playing counselor and adviser about matters of the tween heart. Hopefully, I’ll get down to writing that out soon. Send positive vibes my way to get me cracking on it.

Meet The Brat in (Spirit of #TangeirneColorsOfLife with Kiran Manral )

Me-  Tell us how you met ‘His’ father. Was it ‘love at first sight’? Tell us about the wonderful element of romance it had. 

K- Oh, he was my crush at first sight, and he was completely unaware of my existence. He was this gorgeous, Richard Gere lookalike, national swimming champion, Student of the year, university representative, with a new girlfriend hanging off his arm every week. I was the nerdy geeky thing with my nose buried in a book. On an off-chance, the last month of college, we passed and almost dashed into each other on the stairs, I smiled, he followed me to the ladies-room, common room where I was going to, waited out till I emerged and has been with me since.

Me-  ‘Work Spouse’ .. hahaha.. I came across this term recently. I think it is all good till the two don’t start behaving like a married couple. Then it will be ‘home away from home’.  On a serious note, don’t you think that office romance or crush and ‘work spouse’ are two very different things? Latter could be a mature fulfilling relationship. As your upcoming book is on office romance I would love your views on the subject?

K- Hmm. I’m a little wary of work spouse, the term and the concept. It would be completely possible to get extremely close to one individual in the work space in a platonic way, but when it becomes a relationship that gains parity with your off work relationship, it could get a little threatening to your primary relationship–whether it is romantic or not. And yes, an office crush is an office crush is an office crush and you are allowed to be all sheep eyed around the object of your affection but if this morphs into a romantic relationship, do check the rule book about what your organisation permits and know that fallout from relationships gone bad in the workplace can be scary.

Me- Why write about l’ amore?  Are you a mushy romantic woman at heart?

K- Of course I am. Completely a mush heart. Ironically I never read Mills and Boon or Barbara Cartland romances in my early youth.

Me-  Do you love to travel ? Any interesting , witty, silly  incident you want to share with us? 

K- I’m not a very rough it out traveler, I need my room service and hot and cold running water. My husband is the kind who wants to throw clothes into a duffel bag and drive off into the unknown, as you might guess, this makes for some pretty interesting situations. The scariest I can remember is driving to Goa, with two kids, (one mine, another a friend’s offspring), and the kids and my friend all road-sick, and the spouse misses the right turn, we end up in the thick of some forest sanctuary, run out of petrol and dusk setting in with no mobile signal. I can tell you I have never prayed as much as I prayed that day, but thankfully I think we reached civilization just as the petrol tank was coughing out the last drop of petrol and made it to the hotel in one piece.

Me-  Your most memorable moments from school  or college life?

K- So many, but I think the most fun were the inter-college festivals, Mood Indigo, Malhar, etc.

Me-  Any obsessions? Jewelry, clothes, shoes, books …anything?

K- Ha ha, all the above. And make up.

(Guess Who is star celeb in this Dove Ad) 

Me- Tell us about a non working day at Manral House.

K- My house is chaos. My son trains in competitive swimming so we wake up early every single day school day or holiday. We have pretty much a fixed schedule, 4.30 am wake up for the boy, he trains from 5.30 am to 7am. I snore in till 6 am and then its to domesticity. The only difference on a holiday is that I am home, I don’t touch the computer and I nap in the afternoons. And yes, I try to catch up on my reading.

Me-  Any wild bucket list?

K- Travelling the world. Alone.

Me-  You have a serious side dedicated to gender rights, prevention of child abuse and other social issues and you constantly juggle between the roles a mother, wife ,daughter etc. but we also know of your witty, curious child -like side. Share some moments from that side of Kiran Manral.

K- Ha ha ha. You see that side, you tell me. I think having a child makes one a bit child like, you tend to see things from their perspective. I think the most recent was at a restaurant where the Justin Beiber song Baby Baby began to play when I was at the buffet counter with my son, and I couldn’t help but start singing aloud with it. My son was most shocked, horrified and embarrassed and threatened to disown me.

Me- Hahaha.. I can imagine the scene. Unforgettable and the most delicious moments of a mother’s life. No? 

K- Yes, absolutely.

Me- It has been such a joy chatting with you Kiran. Hope you too had fun. Many congratulations and good wishes for your new romcom chick-lit. Let’s give our readers a sneak peek into the book, shall we ? 

K-  Absolutely, the feeling is mutual and thank you for your wishes.  Here is the Synopsis of Once Upon a Crush for your readers.

OnceUponAcrushcover

“Rayna De, stuck in a dead end job with a boss from hell, zero love life and the big 3-O looming large on the immediate horizon, has started to panic a bit. No, make that panic a lot. Enter new object of lust in the office, Deven Ahuja, and Rayna is overpowered by inappropriate visions of Cupid aiming his arrows straight into her heart, with turtle doves doing their billing and cooing act in the backdrop.

Alas, Deven is completely out of Rayna’s league despite the contradictory messages he seems to be sending out, and is, as decreed by page three supplements of the city newspapers, the man in the life of the gorgeous, light eyed model turned actress Sharbari Raina.

As Rayna battles with her unseemly, going nowhere crush, shaky employment status and dithers about signing up for domesticity with the vetted by her parents, Sid Bose, of the multi zero pay package, the two and a half bedroom house in a suburban gated complex and the very cultured, respectable family, she discovers that life has its own plans….”

OnceUponACrushPromoimage

The book can be pre ordered here:

Flipkart

Crossword

Infibeam

Amazon

The twitter hashtag is #OnceUponACrush

 

Here’s a bit about the author: 

Kiran Manral has worked as a journalist before she quit to be full-time mommy.

Her blogs, www.thirtysixandcounting.wordpress.com and www.karmickids.blogspot.com, are both in Labnol’s list of India’s top blogs. She blogged at Tehelka Blogs on gender issues. She is also considered a ‘social media star’ on twitter by the TOI and IBN Live named her as among the 30 interesting Indian women to follow on twitter and among the top 10 Indian moms to follow on twitter for 2013.
Post 26/11, she founded India Helps, a volunteer network to help disaster victims post 26/11 and has worked on long-term rehabilitation of 26/11 Mumbai terror attack victims and 13/7 Mumbai bomb blast victims, among others.
She is part of core founding team behind CSAAM (www.csaawarenessmonth.com) and Violence Against Women Awareness Month (www.vawawareness.wordpress.com), two very well received social media awareness initiatives across twitter and the blogosphere.
Her début novel, The Reluctant Detective, was published by Westland in 2012.

 

5 thoughts on “Getting Candid With Author Kiran Manral

  1. Pingback: Getting Candid With Author Kiran Manral | Fortytwoandcounting

Leave a Reply

