10 Day You Challenge : Day 9 – Two Songs


Now this is unfair. Two songs? How can one choose two songs? For a music lover like me this is the hardest post till now. So many wonderful artists, so many music genre. There is so much music across the globe that I love. From folk to classical and movie tracks to instrumental. Each country has something special to offer.

Let us take one Indian and one western. Something different from what I usually share on Facebook, Twitter, Blog and other places. Something which is part of our music heritage.  A Qawwali   This is beautiful poetry by Amir Khusro sung beautifully by Sabri Bothers. I love it for the sheer beauty of its lyrics. This Qawwalli is played at the dargah of Hazrat Khwaja Muinuddin Chishti also known as Khwaja gareeb nawaz  during Urs at other times too. Very close to my heart. Enjoy!

1. Chhap tilak sab cheeni ray mosay naina milaikay

One can’t really put just the first part so taking liberty to share part two also.

A part of English translation of the poem is –

You’ve taken away my looks, my identity, by just a glance.
By making me drink the wine of love-potion,
You’ve intoxicated me by just a glance;
My fair, delicate wrists with green bangles in them,
Have been held tightly by you with just a glance.
I give my life to you, Oh my cloth-dyer,
You’ve dyed me in yourself, by just a glance.
I give my whole life to you Oh, Nijam,
You’ve made me your bride, by just a glance.

2. Don’t cry for me Argentina – André Rieu

I loved Evita and Madonna’s version of this song till I heard her beautiful haunting voice . Time stood still and tears flowed freely. Each time I listen to Suzan Erens   I get goosebumps . Andre Rieu himself is one exceptional violinist, conductor, and composer best known for creating the waltz-playing Johann Strauss. Suzan is just extraordinary as far as diction and performance goes and beautiful too. The song is very close to my heart as was the movie. Enjoy !

I know I am doing a great injustice to all the legendary artists here by not even mentioning them but then there is always time for another post  exclusively for them.

Hope you enjoyed the two exceptionally talented maestro I presented.

The tag is coming to an end now but you can read from where it all Started .

2 thoughts on “10 Day You Challenge : Day 9 – Two Songs

  1. Our Pakistani brothers might not forgive you for calling the Sabri brothers Indian :P. Nevertheless, their rendition of the song is nice. Many others have sung the same song in different tunes – Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Abida Parveen, etc

    For an Indian version, check out Kailash Kher:-

    Cheers
    CRD

    Like

Leave a Reply

