Death : As I See It


Death says:

Fear me not

face me not with trepidation

Hold my hand

and

let me be your guide

let me lead you

to the next journey

This fear arises from uncertainty and inability to control a certain situation. We have achieved almost a total control over birth but Death remains a mystery. Fear of unknown  leads to questions about after life , and the clinging attitude makes us even more scared of losing that which actually is not even ours. I believe that the body is just a vehicle for the soul and the soul never dies , it continues to wander from one place to another using the bodies as stopovers. See life as an energy form that is continuously flowing, with birth and death mere catalysts changing the course of the flow.

Osho says,”To know life in its insecurity is to know life in its immense beauty, is to know life in its authenticity. To know life in its insecurity, without any fear, is to transcend death, because life never dies.”

I love going to the cemeteries. It helps me understand life and enjoy it more because I know that one day my body will also lie there. It gives wisdom to understand both the doors of one’s soul. Birth and death and the journey  in between.

We are insecure lot and the basic fear of death generates all the other fears in us. We can’t let go , we want to hold on even to life. In that process we choke it , stop its flow. Die a million deaths every moment.

When something ends it gives birth to something new. I see death as freedom from all the burdens we carry through life.

I am not a follower of any one person but I have come across people who have given a completely new dimension to my thinking.

One such person is Jiddu Krishnamurti .

Here is what he says about Death . I agree when he says Death is a word, an image  and that image creates fear.

He says ,”Thought, which breeds the fear of death, says, ‘Let’s postpone it, let’s avoid it, keep it as far away as possible, let’s not think about it- but you are thinking about it. When you say, ‘I won’t think about it’, you have already thought out how to avoid it. You are frightened of death because you have postponed it.

We have separated living from dying, and the interval between the living and the dying is fear. That interval, that time, is created by fear. Living is our daily torture, daily insult, sorrow and confusion, with occasional opening of a window over enchanted seas. That is what we call living, and we are afraid to die, which is to end this misery. We would rather cling to the known than face the unknown – the known being our house, our furniture, our family, our character, our work, our knowledge, our fame, our loneliness, our gods – that little thing that moves around incessantly within itself with its own limited pattern of embittered existence.”

I love these articles by Osho. He explains death in a very profound way .

http://www.oshoquotes.net/2009/12/osho-quotes-on-death-each-death-is-an-opportunity-to-be-awake/

http://www.oshoquotes.net/2009/11/osho-quotes-on-death-osho-quotes-on-death-and-dying/

Life is certainly a celebration and so is death. I see death as feminine  , as friend who will hold your hand and take you to yet another wonderful journey .

I am sharing an excellent article Dealing with Death by Prashant Karhade in this post. Prashant is a friend and compiler and publisher of Ripples . He is a wonderful writer himself and when hen he shared this article with me I immediately connected with it and decided to share it with you all.

A rather long post but do read it .

Life Is ; Death is Not By Prashant Karhade

Here is a part of the article :Dealing with Death

Then one day I was at home, sitting out in the verandah, when I saw a spider weaving its web. I had never really seen a spider in action before. As I watched it closely, I couldn’t help but marvel at its skill and efficiency. And then out of nowhere, I felt something I hadn’t felt ever before. I felt one with it. I realized that it was the exact same life force that coursed through its veins and mine. It was at that moment that I truly understood the meaning of what Swami Vivekananda once said while talking about death. He said, “How can I die when an earthworm still lives?”

That day I realized that I am only one of the infinite manifestations of the indestructible life force that has no beginning and no end, “anaadi anant” as they say in Hinduism. And then everywhere I looked, I saw the same indestructible, omnipresent, and omnipotent life force in action. I had no choice but to accept that there is only one thing in our hands – do our infinitesimal bit and watch life unfold in front of our eyes. In a strange way, it reduced the fear of death which is what I was seeking in the first place. But it didn’t happen because of some grand spiritual enlightenment but due to a simple realization. Of course, UGK would say that at best I have only seen the fruit; I haven’t tasted it. But even that is not bad at all.

Today, death is still very much a part of my life; at least every tenth thought of mine is that I am a mortal being and am going to die one day. But it isn’t nearly as scary as it was before. On the contrary, it has brought a lot of positives into my life.

First and foremost, death has brought a sense of urgency to my life like only death can, and everyday it forces me to live life to the fullest. I always have this feeling that I don’t have any time to waste because I don’t know when life might come to an end, and therefore, I have to make every moment count. And it is this sense of urgency that enables me to do just a bit more than I would have done otherwise. That brings a lot of positives of its own.

Death also helps me keep things in perspective. Every time something doesn’t go my way, the first thought that comes to my mind is, “Never mind. I still have blood gushing through my veins. All my loved ones are also still around. So nothing is lost really. I am just gonna give it another shot. If it happens, it happens. Otherwise, it wasn’t meant to be.” It is the lack of this perspective, and the fact that we take ourselves and everything happening around us far too seriously sometimes, that is the root cause of most of our problems.


A straight from the heart masterpiece of writing. It stayed with me for a long time. It hits you hard and makes you ponder over those aspects of your journey called life  that you usually don’t think about.


I wrote this poem long time back

Death

Death, she waits for me silently,

on hunches.

Waiting for the day when I will lend

my hand to her.

And together we will explore

what lies beyond.

Death, my life’s twin

it’s with her I have to spend

the next part of my journey.

Where I shall be free of all bondage and fears,

where my spirit will sour to unknown heights.

I long to meet her.

My liberator.

And soon we will be one

cruising along to the world unknown.


I too have lost my loved ones and I did grieve for them for we are used to their physical presence  but ultimately I realized that the face, the body fades away from the memory and what remains is their journey of life , good or bad. I felt that my father’s life enriched mine in more than one ways and though I felt sad that he was no more there ,I did not grieve for him. My experience with him was total and complete.

I learned it hard way  and I am still trying to carry out it in my life.

One simple fact

celebrate life( yours and especially of those who have moved on to another journey of soul) , un”cling” , let go, enrich yourself from whoever comes into your life , be open and curious and just flow ….

Live

 

3 thoughts on “Death : As I See It

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Death : As I See It « Spinning a Yarn Of Life -- Topsy.com

  2. Well wht can i say .. i beleive that death is one truth that we cant get away from.. and how and when is not in our hands so why worry about it …

    live today so when you go to sleep you know that tomorrow when the sun rises it will be a pleasant day..

    I have had my expereinces with death, granddads, dad, best friend but then when i think of them i think of the good times we had..

    with my friend the schooling college and everything else thats boys do..

    So i try to spend and live life with the people who are alive and with me at the moment , cause who knows when we will say good byes or IF we will even get time to say byes..

    Rest all is upto someone whom we have put all our faith..

    good made me think this article

    Bikram’s blog

    Like

  3. I think, like all other things, death too has some kind of purpose when it takes place. Having lost a friend myself, I realized why that particular person came into my life and why he is no longer there. That person supported me when I needed him, but left when I started becoming too dependent…i needed to make my own mistakes and face life on my own.
    I don’t know why there is a need to know so much about death. Like you said, we have already gained control over birth….so why cant we let death be? However terrible death is, that sense of mystery around death is just something else. To wonder what might happen after one’s exit from this world gives me a space to imagine and create my own notions of life after death and look forward to my reunion with my friend.
    Sometimes, it is good to let the mystery remain..too much knowledge will bring staleness and vanity.
    Also, I think death can be a wonderful thing at times, it brings calmness, and rids you of the pain of these bad times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

