A Poem For You


I wish I could

write a poem for you

a poem that paints my dreams

dreams that tell our story

each word a picture

a visual collage

of love and lust

pain and longing

hurt and anger

distance and closeness

meeting and parting

iconography.

I wish I could

write a poem for you

but

words shrugged their shoulders

and walked away

just like that

and I was left

staring at them

I beseeched them to stay

like I did with you

I did

Estranged words

if only I could catch them

thousands of words

some said some unsaid.

Now I stare at the empty screen

( strange that I should say empty screen instead of empty paper. How much has changed since then .)

My fingers caress

the smooth surface of the keys

my ears

long to hear that delicious clicking sound

 

Nothing.

The fog doesn’t lift

I push myself and strain

to see the fog veiled vision

a form

vague and abstract

I close my eyes and zone out

The poison flows through the eyes

leaving black streaks on my cheeks

better to flow out than stay within and burn the very essence of my being

my error of judgement, my follies , my fall

all clear now

There is a deafening, demeaning silence in the heart

that I try to figure out

and draw a blank

vexed with my myself

I leave the unfinished, untitled poem

in the drafts

 

7 thoughts on “A Poem For You

  1. So what happend between you two?It sure is so full of sadness,it’s as she ripped your heart out.

    Is the question meant for me 🙂 . Well My heart is ripped . He did it. Was low and wanted to let it flow out. Life is more pain than joy sometimes and love is all pain and no joy most of the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

