Ravishing Rekha and Legendary Amitabh Bachchan: A Birthday Post


I wanted to do two different posts on Rekha and Amitji but then decided to make it a Birthday Post.  A tribute to two of my favorite Bollywood star icons of all times.

Rekha’s birthday falls on 10th and Amit ji’s on 11th ( Yes he shares his DOB with Me  😀 ).

Rekha turned 56 yesterday and Amitji turned 68 today.

I  wish them health , happiness and joy.

Rekha has been one of my favorites because of her remarkable talent and beauty. For me she is the ultimate diva. I loved her simple girl next door look and brilliant performance in Khoobsoorat .

42 years of  her reign in Bollywood were simply magical. I loved Silsila,  Umrao Jaan , Utsav, zubaida and her mesmerizing guest  performance in Parinita .The song ‘Kaisi paheli zindagaani’  had such a nostalgic feel and was, at the same time, so sensuous. The way Rekha carried herself in the song can only be done by an actress of her calibre. She is a perfect blend of beauty, glamour and talent.

I loved her in Umrao Jaan and thought that her performance matched that of Legendary Meena Kumari in Pakeeza . She looked gorgeous in the movie and acted so well. Here is my favorite song from the movie

So many memorable performances and portrayal of different and varied characters shows the range of her acting.

I find her ageless as far as Beauty goes. At 56 she still looks so ravishing. I would call the true face of Indian Beauty and grace.

What can I say about Amitji . He is a star icon and a legend. I loved his early  performances in Chupke Chupke, Mili, Abhiman,  Anand  and then the famous Deewar , silsila, Muqaddar ka Sikandar, Zanjeer, Sholey, Chash- e- baddoor, Agnipath and not to forget Satte pe Satta 😀 .. the list is endless.

The Rekha – Amitabh love saga was eternal. I always called them the perfect couple that never was. 🙂

They looked great together and their on-screen chemistry was electric.

I won’t call Amitabh a great actor but a great performer.

This song from Silsila  remains my all time favorite . The lyrics are awesome.

The Hrishi Da – Amitabh association gave many great films. Together they changed the face of Indian cinema.

Here are some of my favorite songs of Amitji

A wonderful song from Abhiman.

I love this evergreen song from kabhi kabhi . The poem Amitji recites is awesome

Sahir Ludhianvi’s original poem:
Kabhi Kabhi mere dil mein khayaal aataa hai
Ki zindagi teri zulfon ki narm chhaaon mein
Guzarne paati to shaadaab ho bhi sakti thi
Yeh tiraagi jo mere zist ka muqaddar hai
Teri nazar ki shuaon mein kho bhi sakti thi

Ajab na thaa ki main begana-e-alam reh kara
Tere jamaal ki ranaiyon mein kho rehta
Tera gudhdaaz badan, teri nimabaz aankhen
Inhin hasin fasano mein main ho rehta

Pukaratin mujhe jab talkhiyan zamane ki
Tere labon se halavat ke ghunt pe leta
Hayaat chikhti phirti barehana-sar aur main
Ghaneri zulfon ke saaye mein chhup ke ji leta
Magar ye ho na saka
Magar ye ho na saka aur ab ye aalam hai
Ki tu nahin, tera gham teri justaju bhi nahin
Guzar rahi hai kuch is tarah zindagi jaise
Ise kisi ke sahare ki aarzoo bhi nahin
Zamane bhar ke dukhon ko lagaa chuka hun gale
Guzar raha hun kuch anjaani rahguzaron se
Muhib saaye meri simt badte aate hain
Hayaat-o-maut ke par-haal khaar-zaaron se
Na koi jaada, na manzil na roshani ka suraag
Bhatak rahi hai khalaon mein zindagi meri
Inhi khalaon mein reh jaaunga kabhi kho kar
Main jaanta hun meri ham-nafas, magar yun hii
Kabhi Kabhi mere dil mein khayal aata hai…

Today I celebrated my birthday  and I would like to thank all my virtual friends for their love and good wishes. The virtual family is my extended family and it really made me warm all over to know that somewhere  somebody thought of me and prayed for my well being.

A big hug and love to everyone  who took some time out to share the joy of  this day with me.

Ones again Birthday wishes to both my Bollywood favorites.

Cheers!  God Bless.

 

All links, images, videos credited to the rightful owners 

20 thoughts on “Ravishing Rekha and Legendary Amitabh Bachchan: A Birthday Post

  1. Rekha is the black magic woman!! God knows how she maintained herself at this age! But somehow I never liked her as an actress.
    Many many happy returns of the day to you..hope u had a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  3. this scares me….. u aren’t one of those whose hubby tells them “if you hadn’t seen so many AB movie ……. toh aaj hamara beta……. hai hai kar ke baat nahi karta hota ” 😀

    anyways….. me too a AB fan…… but not Rekha…. though i liked her….. but i have other favs…….

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Tikuli!

    What a lovely tribute! There is something about both of them! They are seriously in a different league.

    I am amazed when I see how gorgeous Rekha looks at 56 – she is definitely one of the most elegant and evergreen among the actors. As for Amitabh, as you said, he is a master performer. He brings his charisma to everything he does.

    Like

  5. He he, you dedicated your Birthday post to Amitabh and Rekha ? Wow! Methinks Rekha is the se*iest Indian actress ever, she is gorgeous even at this age. And Bachhan… what does one say? One can only drool 😉

    Like

  6. Two of my favorites too! Sad that my sons don’t get my fascination for Amitabh Bacchan. Rekha is the eternal diva. Sensuous, talented and she manages to keep the mystique going even though she is warm and approachable. Did you know she is an amazing mimic and a good singer? Yeah I could go on and on about her!

    Like

  7. loved the pictures slide show…Neela Aasman is my fav song..Silsila my fav movie of these two together…

    I just loved this post so much Tiku…thanx for posting all this 🙂

    Oh and A very Happy B’day to you..how did you celebrate ?

    Like

  8. Oh WOW !!! U share ur bday with ur fav star !!! Great. 🙂

    Glad u had a great bday…wishing u many more happy moments. 🙂

    Thats a good set of songs and pictures….Rekha is still my and my husband’s fav star…she is still wonderful and carries herself with such grace, that we always fall flat for her….she can give a run for money for the other stars… 😉

    Amitabh is the classic performer…so true… 🙂

    Lovely songs…Silsila, Kabhi kabhi, abhimaan….oh, wow…thanks for sharing them all. 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ravishing Rekha and Legendary Amitabh Bachchan: A Birthday Post « Spinning a Yarn Of Life -- Topsy.com

  10. I love both Rekha and Amitabh, they are my favourite of all the time.
    Why life is as it is?
    Not always what has been plan.

    Long long and long life for both of them.

    With many many many love for Rekha n Amitabh.

    Like

  11. I love both of them as well and wish them the best and hoping to see them togather and rock the silver screen one more time

    Like

  12. Hi there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be
    able to resolve this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.

    Cheers!

    Like

  13. Sans doute le plus dans la console de jeu
    de la demande parmi les amateurs de jeux hors d’Age est
    le Dsi. Le jeu est cote acceptable pour les enfants de 13 ans et
    higher. Environ un mois plus tôt, nous avons rencontré
    un problème qui était que son système n’a pas coupé sur correctement, mais nous avons remarqué que
    lorsque les voyants d’alimentation ont été sur le devant du système, ils
    étaient plutôt un clignotant jaune couleur.

    Like

Leave a Reply

