These Old Shades


 

I saw

Pictures

inside old albums

that had been hidden away from me

purposely

Your pictures

which he doesn’t know I have seen

Maybe he thought of  changing them

but then just could not

and even if he had

a face like yours will remain in his memory

etched forever

In his songs I feel your presence

The song you sang together

watching many a  sunsets

from the verdant hills

of  that quiet little town

I get the whiff of your fragrance

each time he twirls  a  glass of wine sensuously

and raises it to his lips

You are present in the

soft smile that starts from

the corners of his mouth

and reaches his eyes

You are always present

in the mirror

infront of which

he stops to take a last glance

before he steps out of house

and in the first rays of morning sun

that play on his body

as he sleeps

Often. I wonder

If the nights

we spent together

match the magic of those

spent with you

Did the fire that sets his body

aflame with passion

kindle you

and sent the sparks floating in the air

I think it did

I can see how he would have

made love to you

in his controlled manner

for he tries that with me

I  feel his hunger

fueled by ravenous passion

his readiness to devour

my voluptuous  body

( he always loved his women to be a mouthful)

I feel it reaching a crescendo

and then it diminishes

And yet

his craving rises

craving to consume your body

as I lie next to him

consumed by the  ghost of you

(Image credit. Google Image search)

14 thoughts on “These Old Shades

  1. Awesome. your writing has improved a lot! This poem had no tricks and yet it was so moving and had so much depth

    Thanks sweetheart. Coming from you this compliment means so much . hugs

    Like

  2. Hi Tiku, wonderful poem, but something is missing… the ending perhaps? Just a thought… I felt this should end in some kind of remorse, guilt, or even denial!!

    I ask myself
    over and over
    Why oh why
    do I live with him
    when all his passion
    is reserved just for you

    Like

  3. This is very evocative. The woman longs so deeply for a love she can’t find in this particular man … she can’t let go of him. Such pathos. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

