Have You Pledged Your Eyes ? Give Someone A Gift Of Sight


I am a proud eye donor . Are you?

Watch This

India has an estimated  15 million blind people out of these 4.6 million people have corneal blindness that is curable through corneal transplantation made possible by eye donation.

If the present trend continues, it is expected that the number of corneal blind people in India will increase to 8.4 million in 2010 and 10.6 million by 2020. Of these at least 3 million can be benefited by corneal transplantation. Thus, to effectively meet the ever-growing demand, we need around 150,000 corneal transplants to be performed every year. However, the current supply is only 22000 corneas per year.


The link below gives all the information you need to know about eye donation .

National Eye Bank ]

I pledged to donate my eyes long back and now my kids are ready to pledge theirs. I request my readers to come forward and  go to the nearest eye-bank or sign a pledge online to give a gift of sight to someone. Think about it… two people will be able to see the beautiful world once again with your eyes.

Make your children , your family aware of the noble cause so that they can fulfill your wish after your death. Always Carry your eye donor card with you. Start a movement . Take that first step .

8 thoughts on “Have You Pledged Your Eyes ? Give Someone A Gift Of Sight

  1. Wow! Tikuli! That’s so nice 🙂 I always wanted to, but never knew how to go about it. Now I do!

    Thanks and once I have pledged, am going to blog about it.


    Debosmota did you watch the video ? it is worth taking a look. must watch.

    I am glad you have decided to pledge. I did it around 20 years back with Venu eye center

    Like

  2. I am a proud eye donor too. Have donated my parents eyes and have pledged mine, my sons have followed suit

    That’s absolutely fantastic Ritu. Hope people get inspired by this. I shall put up my donor card soon. I am so glad.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Have You Pledged Your Eyes ? Give Someone A Gift Of Sight « Spinning a Yarn Of Life -- Topsy.com

  4. hello dear!

    first time on ur blog, had heard ur name, rather read!
    and this topic is so close to my heart. Yes, I along with all adults of my family have pledged our eyes to Venu Eye Institute, its a charitable organisation and hospital. In fact I convinced my family to pledge.

    felt very nice to read ur post.

    keep up the good work.

    PS: btw i wrote abt it recelty for blogadda, u may like to c,

    http://myworldmyperception.blogspot.com/2010/07/i-dream-to-instill-dreams-on-their-eyes.html

    Restless

    Like

  5. Yes Tikuli. All the four of us had pledged our eyes 15 years back. Hope your post inspires more people to donate their eyes for the sightless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

