Destiny’s Child – ‘I’ Reviewed – an introspective review of one’s own life


Team This post has been published by me as a team member of Indiana Legends for the SUPER 3 round of Bloggers Premier League (BPL) – The first ever unique, elite team blogging event of blog world. To catch the BPL action and also be part of future editions and other contests, visit and register at Cafe GingerChai

“My life closed twice before its close;

It yet remains to see

If Immortality unveil

A third event to me,”


– Emily Dickenson


When I read these lines by Emily Dickenson, they strengthen my belief in tenacity of life and the miracles of the universe. When a life about to start is threatened by some unknown force, the cosmic energies intervene. So it happened on that beautiful autumn day in Kumaun (Himalayas) where I lay quietly breathing in my mother’s womb; the life ebbing away from me. Confused, scared but determined not to give up. It was a case of Placenta Previa. Death smiled at the door but they say destiny is simply the strength of your desires.

I desired strongly to live, to flourish, to explore and blossom.

Death would have to wait for me but it got impatient and struck again in the form of Encephalitis when I was four years old. I fought against all odds to be alive and make my presence felt in this world.

I am glad to have survived the battle of life.

A life was supposed to flourish. As my parents always said, maybe I was given this gift of life to fulfill a special purpose on this earth.

When I look back at these incidents from the treasure-house of my acquired memory, they seem highly valuable. Hitting a low spot so early in life has made me stronger and taught me that life is meant to be a magnificent adventure – to be lived joyfully, peacefully and in good health.

A major part of my life went in deception, in feeding the Ego with social appreciation and attention. I was always  reflection of what others (society) wanted me to be. I was becoming an efficient part in the mechanism of the society. Fitting into the pattern but moving away from self-knowledge, that self-knowledge which is the true introspection. Self pity and feelings of being victimized is how I looked at my life. I clung to my Ego.

Helen Keller once said – “When one door closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed-door, that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”

How true! I realized that I was only dwelling on the negative aspects and not even moving ahead. Like quick sand, they were pulling me deeper and deeper and as I analyzed I found there was a strength within me that had the answers. I discovered the power of belief and faith. Belief in oneself and faith in the inner feeling. I am now convinced that, living life fully, celebrating life and miracles is living from an inner guidance.

I began to ‘look within’ with a different outlook. I stopped feeding the ego. I realized that the soul and not the mind was the center. That helped me blossom. I relentlessly asked myself –

Am I justifying my place on this beautiful planet? What is my purpose in life and am I fulfilling it? Where is the life leading me? Is it the right path I have chosen or let’s say have I given any direction to my life as yet or is it simply flowing without any aim?

Introspection to me is not about my life as ‘I’ in the society but as a human being who is part of the bigger scheme of things. I think I learned a lot from nature. Nature does not claim. All things in nature grow beautifully in silence. When Ego dropped, I felt the same silence. The illusions vanished. I am still in the learning process.

Learning to shed what is not needed for my growth. Learning to break away, from bonds that tie me in the shackles of expectations, hope, pain, guilt, love, desire, anger, envy, rage, jealousy and much more. Real introspection hurts. The devious mind pulls and persuades me to go flow with the world we have created to satisfy our ‘self’. The tussle intensifies within but this time I am ready not to give in.

Introspection is not just realization of what has gone by but to me, it is a learning process to what I can hold on to and surge ahead. I try to set free the things and events that hold me captive but in vain. The mind overpowers and even though there is realization, I am unable to act, giving in to the viciousness of my mind. Taming the mind is an exceptionally tough task. It is our mind, the devious little thing, not the heart, mind you, that dictates and lures us into the realms unknown .Coaxing us to take some action which many a times our heart resents.

Why is it that even after knowing how to discern, I give importance to things, events, people who mean so little in the journey called life? I realize how the Ego can lurk around ready to strike.

I am lonely when I want to be alone. I get scared, scared of being lonely.

It is mainly because we can not live with our own self. If we do not have any living person or thing to hold on to, we hold on to the memories .We need crutches, each one of us, including me.

It is an obstacle in my path of self-realization.

I let emotions rule, even now. Even after some years of self-control, I still give in to circumstances which should not affect me.
What force pulls me?
Is it greater than the one I wish to pursue or is it that I am not yet ready?

I feel I am creating stop over’s. Places from where I can return if I get scared or feel lost. The absolute faith in the divine and unknown is still lacking but I have found a direction, a path which will make me a better human being. The journey has begun. I have shed the past. We make the events negative or positive according to what we are taught. I now see each event as a learning experience and try to draw some positiveness from it to hold on and move on.

During the introspection I realized that though my body remains still, I am not calm from within and the stillness is missing from inside.

Meditation and silence helped me to look within and connect with my inner true self.

I am building faith within, trusting my inner self more often. Knowing that it guides me in the right direction, though it may not be the one taken by all .To walk alone and walk with conviction is right as far as I am concerned.

There are two things I am focusing on – one is the spirit of enquiry which is essential for spiritual, mental growth and the other is consideration towards fellow human beings without being judgmental. I have seen that being considerate helps one to understand oneself better. My problems, concerns, worries seem less important the moment I look objectively at people around me.

Questioning has made me realize my self-worth. I have managed to shed pseudo social rituals, customs, dogmas etc. I have learned to raise my voice against gender bias, discrimination and rise above all that which is imposed upon us for centuries.It has helped me mature over a time. I have learned  the secret to unfold my brilliant , resilient petals and bloom.

I feel that life is all about questioning oneself and all that surrounds us, and not just being content and resigning to what we have.

Some questions remain unanswered but the desire to (un)cling, to let go, to set free, to move forward by taking an inner journey continues…

Till then the relentless pursuit is on.

* * *

15 thoughts on “Destiny’s Child – ‘I’ Reviewed – an introspective review of one’s own life

  1. Pingback: Cafe GingerChai » Blog Archive » BPL Super 3 Post links

  2. You have beautifully analyzed yourself and the wonderful philosophy you have chosen is guiding you and taking you to better and higher places.

    Helen Keller – “When one door closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed-door, that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”

    quoted by you looks like its your guiding light so you are always marching ahead without giving up!!

    Three Cheers for You!!! 😀

    Glad to be with you in this wonderful team which is slowly but surely moving forward!! 🙂

    Thank you sweetheart. I would love to have a child like you. such selflessness and inner joy is rare especially combined with so much intelligence and talent. hugs
    Bless you
    I always feel that one should take the journey within and introspect in the true sense of the word and not in a worldly manner. Being a good human being is far more important than being successful and famous.
    Thank you again for all your love
    It is an honor and a joy to have young souls like you in Team Raiders .Cheers !!

    Like

  3. Wow Tikuli, I was realised I was holding my breath as I was reading your post..its poetic and struck a chord with me..

    I have realised some similar things about myself…as I look deep within me…

    God luck for the contest..

    Thank you so much LP yes we should all try to see what lies inside and connect with it , then only we can connect with the outside world in a better manner

    Like

  4. Wow, That was beautiful, Tikuli. You have introspected so beautifully!

    All the best!

    Thank you Smitha. I try to improve upon myself all the time .

    Like

  5. Loved that quote by Hellen Keller – aren’t we all like that – looking at the closed door instead of the one that has opened ???

    Lovely introspection Tikuli !!! Related myself to many points here…

    Thank you Uma Yes .. She remains an enigma and an inspiration . Glad you could relate with the post

    Like

  6. Hey Tiks!

    Thats a wonderful post. I really loved it. Somewhere down the Line, I tend to find myself in a similar situation, infact sometimes to the brink of frustration! The experiences of Life over the period of time get sucked so deep into our consciousness that we often dont even want to introspect about the things gone by.

    The Soul remains intact, as it is from the time of our birth. But as you mentioned, its our mind which tricks us.

    I’m sure it will help lot of readers to do some sort of introspection and may be retro too! Thank your sharing such a wonderful post!! Wish you all the Best!!

    Thank you so much Dipak. It feels wonderful to find non blogging readers appreciating my work. Mind is the devious little thing :p

    If my post can spak a flame somewhere I will feel blessed
    thanks again

    Like

  7. First, HI FIVE…..me too from Kumaon…. 🙂

    I feel it’s been an inspiring life …… what all you have said about your earlier years…. it takes courage to survive through them……….

    “To walk alone and walk with conviction is right ” was the best line from the post……….. aaahhhh…if only i can implement it in my life…….

    I love reading about people and know them better……….and thanks to this strange topic from BPL…..now i know more about 3 more people around me……… 😀

    Hitesh thanks buddy , I was just born in Nanital :). I too love to know about other people. Their take on life.

    Like

  8. Life is the ultimate adventure Tikuli. But I feel there is a danger inherent in introspection …. God knows I am susceptible to it. We go inwards so deeply that the outer world feels like an intrusion. So go inwards to gain strength and then emerge outside and kick ass girl. Life is the ultimate adventure, and we should play the game – completely.

    I agree Ritu . Life is truly an adventure and am enjoying every bit of its ups and downs. they all have their special flavors and something to teach and enrich.

    Like

  9. In our thirst to get appreciation we lose ourself…ur is quite an sensitive article..kinds liked it…good luck
    🙂
    Pushpee


    Thanks Pushpee . I try to improve myself each day . welcome to my blog

    Like

  10. Too good a post Tiku.. liked the philosophical take of the post. Most of the posts in this category are like biography but yours was very much different. Loved it! 🙂

    Hey Ava thanks sweets .. I hope the judges see that :p… Raiders Rock … we all are very hardworking team.. in our hearts each one a winner ..Cheers!!

    Like

  11. This is beautiful Tikuli, my first time on your blog and surely not the last am glad to be here….

    As I was reading your post, there were instances where I thought were flashes of my own past…and that is the beauty of a writer where the reader feels like it is their own story!!!

    my favorite part, I am building faith within, trusting my inner self more often…..beautiful!!!

    All the best for the contest!!!

    You are a very fine writer my dear. Loved your blog. Welcome to mine. 😉
    It feels wonderful when readers can relate to a particular post. It fills one with a warm glow. Yes trusting inner is the best thing. never let’s one down .
    keep visiting.
    Best to you too

    Like

Leave a Reply

