Is God Deaf or Are We Insensitive ?


I saw the tent come up in the park next to my home and knew that it was going to be yet another night of religious cacophony. ( we had undergone this nerveshattering experience just a few days back during a visit to my mom’s place).

My fears were confirmed when the mike check started at ear shattering volume. The dog which was trying to rest after a hot day raised his head and gave a look of disapproval but decided to catch some nap before the show really began.

Within half an hour someone started shrieking out devotional mata ki bhete ( devotional songs for the Devi Durga) and rest of the Gods. The irritation was taking a toll on me and I mumbled some cuss words to sooth my fraying nerves.

I always ask

IS GOD DEAF ?

or

Is it that we have become utterly insensitive to our surroundings?

Is it that Gods are more alert at night and screaming your devotional  breaking the peaceful reviver of night  will bring them closer to God’s love and mercy?

With temper rising like a river in flood I began my monologue ,cursing all insensitive people who organised such events and those who participated in them. The boys were not perturbed . The headphones were properly glued to the ears.

Why should I get tortured alone I thought so the headphones were confiscated.

My husband seemed not interested in talking about the issue. religious sentiments run high in this family and it was a touchy topic raised by an atheist . Even worse.

He told me either to ziplock my mouth or be bold enough to report.

I knew the reason for the  challenge . The ” respectable ” family which was organizing the function are thick with my In laws and any controversy would make me an ” Out law”  and this was certainly not a desirable reason to be labeled so I decided to remain silent.

The police turns a deaf ear  or if at all has to make their presence felt on some one’s complain, they come, watch, eat and go with a mild warning.

“samjha karo ji ” Try to understand.

Religious zealots will be looking for my head if I say more.

The blaring loudspeaker churned out some of the most torturous music I had heard in recent times  with  comments like ” munde ki ma nu bulao” ( call the groom’s mother” ) and so on with a little introduction and a chorus from the mentioned family members. Making matters worse.

For music lovers like us , it was plain and simple case of cold-blooded murder of music.

The decibel levels  leave you grimacing and the murder of melody makes your soul wanting to escape your earthly body to some quieter abode.

” the singers, composers and lyricists must be turning in their graves  ” I said in a hurtful tone and my elder one nodded in agreement.

“Those who are by any chance still alive  will go to the graves tonight. May they rest in peace.” . He said.

RIP ?

( wishful thinking)

There is a law against the use of loudspeakers after 11 I think but when it is a matter of religion no one dares to voice their anger. I came to know that someone from the nearby flats had complained and even told the  family head to cut down the noise but he was told that it was just a matter of few hours and an auspicious occasion so he should ” please” bear with them.

The RWA seemed helpless and the tone-deaf crowd kept singing and clapping and dancing in unison till late.

There is a community hall in  the locality and that should be used as rule for such events but the tent still stands with pride in the park and aromatic aromas of food is coming out from there. Guess its going to be a permanent fixture till the wedding is over.

To make matters worse, the devotional bit ended by 10 and then began the filmi music ranging from old songs of Kishore Da to the recent ones of Himesh and then the out of tune rendering of Aaj jane ki zid nakaro that made my temples throb.

The female singers sang as if under a diabolic possession.

Desperate attempts to block the noise failed completely so I immersed myself in the blog world while my hubby slept with a pillow on his ears.

Like a hopeless ,  helpless sponge my entire being soaked up the noisy screeching and shouting that went on in the name of music and devotion for Gods .

That also set me thinking on this whole business of pleasing Gods. I shall write about it in the next post.

No one cares and everyone blares is the quote of the day.

11 thoughts on “Is God Deaf or Are We Insensitive ?

  1. The loud music is very irritating.

    But what really makes me wonder is why do people jump up and dance like they are drunk in a disco in the Jaagran’s?

    Now I know why they are called Jaagran. The entire neighborhood stays up! 😀

    😀 TBG
    They get possessed and go in trance , I say if you wanna go in trance , go to a rave party, get high on booze and have fun . Why spoil other people’s sleep . It is a nuisance

    Like

  2. “There is a law against the use of loudspeakers after 11 I think but when it is a matter of religion no one dares to voice their anger.”

    Everything ( I repeat, EVERYTHING) is fair in the name of religion 🙄 Pathetic!

    They don’t think whether ‘God’ would like their music, etc or not. It’s more of customs, pleasure, etc. And, it’s in the name of religion. Sab chalta hain 😐

    I’m fed up of Bhajans being sung with tablas, etc in Mumbai local trains. Most of the fellow passengers don’t seem to have any problems though. Yeh Bhagwanka maamla hain… law yaa dusre aadmiyon ki feelings samajne ki zaroorat nahi hain!

    I agree Haresh , I have seen it all in locals. be it bhajans or film songs.we have a tendency to be loud. There are drivers who sit in the car parking with loud music switched on. House parites and you have blaring music , sometimes in buses , autos also. I usually tell the guy to switch it off. But this jagrata things is awful and so is the display at temples etc.

    Waise, I never tolerate such torture. I would call police and get the noise stopped.

    Like

  3. Good you brought this up. I find that the open exhibition of religious fervour has increased with the times. Do we really have to proclaim from the roof tops and the gardens that we love our gods? I am sure silent prayers work just as well.

    Show consideration to mankind and such selfless and quiet service will be better rewarded by all gods.

    I shall be taking up this issue in the next post Abha .Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

    Like

  4. Well…after seeing ur headlines of ur post I know what u meant, and the way u described is beautiful…

    My answer to your question will be both, god is deaf and we are insensitive and the answer would be altogether for different reasons than that of your post….However..

    If you stay in Delhi, it has become a kind of fashion to be loud,being noisy is fashion…what is I called ‘punjabification’ ( no offence sought but in general it is a tendency amongst this particular hardworking community) anyhow…nice post

    I know what you mean by panjabification . I have seen it all here. Welcome to my blog and keep visitng. would like to know your reasons for God being deaf and we being insensitive. Although I too have many reasons for this what I posted was just one aspect. 🙂

    Like

  5. No the God is not deaf but yes we are insensitive to others. No doubt about it. Nobody cares that there could be small children in the neighbourhood who are getting tortured or very old members who need a peaceful sleep at night. But do we care? No we don’t. When it is our chance we take it step further. (the ‘We’ described here does not mean me and my family but the entire human race).

    I simply feel that some things should be personal and that includes religion, if you follow some faith do not mak a public display of it , Human values hold no meaning for us humans in many cases and yet we call ourselves superior race.

    Like

  6. God!!! I hate it, hate it, hate it! I cant understand this entire scenario at all. They will ban IPL parties or any other celebration of life after 11 p.m. but become deaf mute when it comes to Jagrans. I am very much a theist but I feel that religion is a personal thing, and this public fake fervor is disgusting

    I agree one hundred percent with you.

    Like

  7. In Pune this rule is followed strictly. Even Garba was permitted till 12 and then not just music even the the brighter lights were switched off. I too have made complaints (just dialed 100) to stop loud music – I resented having to make that call!

    Once the police came and stopped the noise at a wedding reception (I was a guest there) – how is it that this is not followed here in Delhi???

    The only time it became difficult was around Diwali, and that because the culprit generally disappeared by the time the police arrived.

    I just don’t get the logic of noise when it comes to praying?

    The rules are everywhere IHM and at places followed too bu when it comes to jagratas and all the police also tones down. they finishes thankfully by around 12 but in most cases it goes on all night.

    Like

  8. IS GOD DEAF ?

    Just google “Chariots of God” it has most of the answers

    🙂 I did. I have more questions. As someone who does not practice ritualistic religious and believes in the mystery of the universe unquestioned , I do have many more questions.

    Like

  9. It so irritates me too ! Lot of shaadi and naach gana on the main roads..people just become insensitive to the traffic that they are blocking and putting others in trouble..the loud speaker shooting high under the name of dandiya,religion and chunaav…

    Alls not right not well 😦

    Like

  10. “Is God deaf?” Good question.

    Last night there was some such thing happening near my place. It seemed to be one of those hysterical meeting/ get togethers where a person with a mike exhorts a million others to loudly say that they believe in God, God is great etc. But at ten in the night?

    IMHO if you want to please God, you can start by being considerate towards your fellow human beings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

